Asian Arts Council logo Asian Arts Council logo text
... of The San Diego Museum of Art
 
 

Asian Arts Council Calendar

Lectures and Study Group meet in Zoom!

  1. Lectures, and More
  2. Zoom lectures are FREE (for now)! Please encourage friends to join in on these excellent lectures!
    To register, find the date on the calendar of The San Diego Museum of Art. Click here! Once registered, an invitation email will be sent.
  3. Thursday, Sep 24 - 1:00 p.m.

    Tea Ceremony in Medieval Japan: Its Origins and Embodiment of the Senses

    Anne Alene , M.A., Art Travel LLC, Japanese Language & Tour Services, Art Specialist

  4. Thursday, Oct 29 - 1:00 p.m.

    SHIKI: The Four Seasons in Japanese Art - Details

    For centuries, the Japanese have expressed and codified their love and reverence for nature and the seasons in their poetry and art. From the 7th century AD, a rich literary and visual vocabulary relating to the Four Seasons (Japanese: Shiki, 四季) evolved, with flowers, trees, plants, birds, animals and entire landscapes representing each season and its associated moods and activities. In this Zoom slide lecture, Meher McArthur will explore how the tradition of the Four Seasons features in Japanese paintings, prints, ceramics, clothing and accessories, using examples from the Scripps College Collection that will be featured in her upcoming exhibition (Scripps College, January 2021) of the same name.

    Meher McArthur , Art and Cultural Director for Japan House, Los Angeles (JHLA), Scripps College, Claremont, Gabrielle Jungels-Winkler Curator of Academic Programs and Collections Claremont College, Curator at Storrier Stearns Japanese Garden, Asian art curator, author and educator

  5. Thursday, Jan 28, 2021 - 1:00 p.m.

  6. Thursday, Feb 25 - 1:00 p.m.

  7. Thursday, Mar 25 - 1:00 p.m.

  8. Thursday, Apr 29 - 1:00 p.m.

  9. Thursday, May 27 - 1:00 p.m.

  10. Thursday, Jun 24 - 1:00 p.m.

  1. Study Group
  2. FY 20 & FY 21 Study Group:

    Zoom meetings are FREE to AAC members and Museum Docents. To request an invitation by email, Click here!

    FY Theme: Asian ceramics from Ancient Japan to Southeast Asia; as well as the influences on The Middle East and European manufacturing

  3. Monday, September 21 - 10 a.m.

    Japanese Ceramics 

    Heather Simmerman


  4. Monday, October 19 - 10 a.m.

    Japanese Contemporary Ceramics - Exhibition Movie

    Gordon Brodfuehrer


  5. Monday, November 16- 10 a.m.

    Korean Ceramics

    David Miles


  6. Monday, Feb 8 - 10 a.m.
    2nd Monday, 3rd Monday is Presidents Day holiday

    Turkish Ceramics 

    Lily Birmingham

  7. Monday, Mar 15 - 10 a.m.

    Influence of Asian Ceramics on European (Spanish, German, Dutch, English) 

    Courtenay McGowen


  8. Monday, Apr 19 - 10 a.m.

    Influence of Asian Ceramics on Italy

    Barbara Hollowell


  9. Monday, May 17 - 10 a.m.

    Persian/Iranian/Iraqi Ceramics

    Elaine Pierce


  10. Monday, Jun 21 - 10 a.m.

    Southeast Asian Ceramics

    Sandi Calabough